No Texas teams hosting NCAA baseball regionals (Infographic)

Six teams from the Lone Star State selected for 2023 NCAA Baseball Tournament, none as hosts

OMAHA, Neb. — For the first time since 2013 — and second time since the tournament went to its current format in 1999 — no team from the state of Texas will host a regional for the NCAA Baseball Tournament, the Division I Baseball Committee announced Sunday night.

Eight of the 16 regional hosts selected for the tournament are from the Southeastern Conference. The hosts have locked up spots in the national tournament, and the rest of the 64-team field was unveiled Monday.

The selection committee chose six participants from Texas — No. 2 seeds Texas (38-20), Texas A&M (36-25), Dallas Baptist (45-14) and TCU (37-22), and No. 3 seeds Sam Houston State (38-23) and Texas Tech (39-21).

Each regional is made up of four teams playing in a double-elimination format. All games are scheduled from Friday through Monday. Regional winners advance to a best-of-three super regionals, and those eight winners go on to the College World Series in Omaha beginning June 16.

Wake Forest (47-10), among four Atlantic Coast Conference teams to be named hosts, is the No. 1 overall seed after winning the league's regular-season championship and leading the nation in wins.

SEC hosts are Alabama (40-19), Arkansas (41-16), Auburn (34-21-1), Florida (44-14), Kentucky (36-18), LSU (43-15), South Carolina (39-19) and Vanderbilt (41-18). TCU, Texas Tech and Sam Houston State will travel to Arkansas, Florida and LSU, respectively.

Joining Wake Forest as ACC hosts are Clemson (43-17), Miami (40-19) and Virginia (45-12). The Hurricanes will welcome the Longhorns to Coral Gables, Florida.

Oklahoma State (41-18) is the only Big 12 host, and Stanford (38-16) is the only one from the Pac-12. Dallas Baptist and Texas A&M, respectively, will visit them.

Coastal Carolina (39-19) of the Sun Belt Conference and Indiana State of the Missouri Valley (42-15) are the other hosts. Indiana State is hosting for the first time in program history.

Miami (29), LSU (27) and Stanford (21) have each hosted regionals at least 20 times. Auburn, Florida, Miami, Oklahoma State and Stanford hosted in 2022.

(Visited 8 times, 1 visits today)