Univ. of Texas, Texas A&M hosting regionals for NCAA baseball tournament


MEGAN NIELSEN/Omaha World-Herald via AP

Maryland’s Will Glock pitches in the 11th inning against Indiana during a Big Ten college baseball tournament game Saturday, May 28, in Omaha, Neb.

ERIC OLSON, Associated Press

OMAHA, Neb. — The Southeastern Conference and Atlantic Coast Conference each had four teams selected as regional sites Sunday for the NCAA baseball tournament.

The hosts have locked up spots in the national tournament, and each regional will be made up of four teams playing in a double-elimination format. All are scheduled from Friday through Monday. Regional winners advance to best-of-three super regionals, and those eight winners go on to the College World Series in Omaha beginning June 17.

Tennessee (53-7) is expected to be the No. 1 overall seed after sweeping the SEC regular-season and tournament championships.

Other SEC hosts are Auburn (37-19), Florida (39-22) and Texas A&M (37-18).

The Big 12 has Oklahoma State (39-12) and Texas (42-18) as hosts, and the Pac-12 has two in Oregon State (44-12) and Stanford (40-14).

Texas is hosting for the 29th time and Texas A&M is hosting for the 12th time while Georgia Southern and Maryland are first-time hosts.

Miami is hosting for the 28th time, but the first time since 2016. Stanford is hosting for the 20th time.

(Visited 20 times, 1 visits today)